Search The ForumSearch   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

MailBee.NET IMAP

 AfterLogic Forum : MailBee.NET IMAP
Subject Topic: Exchange 365: Socket Timeout Errors Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
woogoob
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: 16 May 2017 at 7:34am | IP Logged Quote woogoob

Hi,

We recently switched from Exchange On-Premise to Exchange 365. I would like to know if anyone on this forum is successfully using MailBee.NET IMAP with Exchange 365. Our application worked fine when connecting to On-Premise, but now connecting to Exchange 365, we get intermittent socket timeout errors.
Microsoft has been no help in resolving this.

Gary
Back to Top View woogoob's Profile Search for other posts by woogoob
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2159
Posted: 16 May 2017 at 7:49am | IP Logged Quote Alex

You can simply retry on connection failures. Network connection between two distant parties is by its nature a not reliable thing so you should be prepared to try again if the connection fails. It's not just Exchange 365, it's for everything.

The real problem is if retrying does not help. I.e. you retry a few times and it still keeps rejecting you so that you can't download anything at all (no matter how many times you try to connect). Is this the case?

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 
woogoob
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: 17 May 2017 at 2:00pm | IP Logged Quote woogoob

Hi Alex,

Yes, retrying does work most of the time, but not always. Even after 5 or 6 tries, it will not connect sometimes. I'll live with it. I didn't expect to find a solution via this post, but was curious if others have run into the same issues.

Gary
Back to Top View woogoob's Profile Search for other posts by woogoob
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2159
Posted: 18 May 2017 at 2:25am | IP Logged Quote Alex

Hi Gary,

6 times in a row is too much. How many connects in an hour do you usually make?

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 
woogoob
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: 18 May 2017 at 1:51pm | IP Logged Quote woogoob

The application is a service that runs every hour.
It searches 140 mailboxes. So that's 140 connects in about 5 - 6 minutes.

Back to Top View woogoob's Profile Search for other posts by woogoob
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2159
Posted: 19 May 2017 at 4:02am | IP Logged Quote Alex

Hm, just run 500 IMAP connections to mail.office365.com in a row. All connections went OK. I only did Connect/Login/Disconnect. You can try the same. If it works, you can then repeat with adding SelectFolder and then, step by step, come closer to your actual code, to find out the exact thing which is failing.

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 
woogoob
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: 23 May 2017 at 6:55am | IP Logged Quote woogoob

I ran 100 IMAP connections/login/Disconnect.
Sometimes it completes, sometimes it doesn't.
It's not consistent when it fails, it's all over the place.
It takes around 1 minute 48 seconds to complete the test.
I did a small sample size of running this test 5 times.
1: Failed on 36th iteration
2: Passed
3: Failed on 8 iteration
4: Passed
5: Passed
How long did it take to do 500 IMAP connections?
When it doesn't complete, the error is always the socket timeout error.
I noticed that both Connect and Login can throw this same error.


Back to Top View woogoob's Profile Search for other posts by woogoob
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2159
Posted: 23 May 2017 at 8:58am | IP Logged Quote Alex

That's great then. First you said it doesn't work even if you retry 5 times. However, it seems to work, just a few disconnects in the series of 500. You can live with that.

I didn't measure how long it took, maybe 30 minutes or so but our internet connection with Google servers is not very fast (so can't judge anything).

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.9
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide