Search The ForumSearch   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

MailBee.NET POP3

 AfterLogic Forum : MailBee.NET POP3
Subject Topic: GetMessageUids() only gets UID once Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
cusimar9
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 February 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 6:05am | IP Logged Quote cusimar9

I store local copies of emails in my web app. I use pop.GetMessageUids() to match the server UIDs against the UIDs stored in my database to ensure I only download each email once.

I have noticed that with some servers (i.e. gmail) the messages can only be downloaded once when using pop.DownloadEntireMessage(). Likewise if I receive an email into Outlook, the pop3 component won't be able to find it afterwards.

However Outlook downloads every message whether I have already downloaded it using my MailBee pop3 component or not.

Is this 'selective' download something I can have any control over?
Back to Top View cusimar9's Profile Search for other posts by cusimar9
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5874
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 6:08am | IP Logged Quote Igor

I believe you cannot have any control over that in GMail case. With GMail POP3, you can only fetch message from it only once, it becomes unavailable after that. In general, POP3 behavior in GMail is highly non-standard one. Thus, whenever possible, using IMAP with GMail is recommended.

--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2171
Posted: 21 April 2011 at 8:52am | IP Logged Quote Alex

With POP3 Gmail, you can, however, change this behavior in Gmail's Settings / "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" / "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown.

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 
atamata
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 2:25am | IP Logged Quote atamata

Alex wrote:
With POP3 Gmail, you can, however, change this behavior in Gmail's Settings / "Forwarding and POP/IMAP" / "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown.

Regards,
Alex


Hi I am trying to use Mailbee.net with gmail and when i change the setting in the "When messages are accessed with POP" dropdown and use the pop3.DownloadEntireMessages() method to effectively 'delete' the messages from the gmail inbox (as advised to) the selected action does not happen. Ie. when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived.

Are you able to advise?

mant thanks
Back to Top View atamata's Profile Search for other posts by atamata
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5874
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 2:47am | IP Logged Quote Igor

Quote:
when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived.


Well I have just tried this with my GMail account, with "Enable POP for all mail" and "Archive GMail's copy" options set. I have run POP3 Demo #1 several times in a row, and with each run a number of mails in Inbox decreased by 1 so another mail was fetched each time, and it looks like mails were moved to Archive indeed.

In fact, this isn't really MailBee-related issue as it uses standard POP3 approach so the same would apply to any other POP client.

--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 
atamata
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 April 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Posted: 02 April 2012 at 7:19am | IP Logged Quote atamata

Igor wrote:
Quote:
when selecting "archive Gmail's copy" from the list the messages remain in the inbox and are not archived.


Well I have just tried this with my GMail account, with "Enable POP for all mail" and "Archive GMail's copy" options set. I have run POP3 Demo #1 several times in a row, and with each run a number of mails in Inbox decreased by 1 so another mail was fetched each time, and it looks like mails were moved to Archive indeed.

In fact, this isn't really MailBee-related issue as it uses standard POP3 approach so the same would apply to any other POP client.

--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support


Hi again, my fault I had forgotten the pop3.Disconnect at the end!

All working now :)
Back to Top View atamata's Profile Search for other posts by atamata
 
ImmoConnect
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 February 2009
Location: France
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 35
Posted: 15 October 2013 at 7:12am | IP Logged Quote ImmoConnect

Hello,

I know this post is old but I'm facing the "issue" and I am wondering if there is a known workaroud for this ?

I mean, without go to google mail account parameters and check the option "all messages".

Thanks.

Regards.
Back to Top View ImmoConnect's Profile Search for other posts by ImmoConnect
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5874
Posted: 15 October 2013 at 11:32pm | IP Logged Quote Igor

I don't think so, the problem is unrelated to specific client, it's how POP3 service of Gmail behaves. I'd recommend using IMAP rather than POP3 with GMail.

--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.9
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide