Search The ForumSearch   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

MailBee Objects

 AfterLogic Forum : MailBee Objects
Subject Topic: Exchange upgrade causes Bee sting Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
eagle32nd
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 September 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Posted: 09 September 2008 at 7:57am | IP Logged Quote eagle32nd

We've been using MailBee Objects v5.3 to good success for 3 years. MailBee connects via our HelpDesk application (written in classic ASP) to a mailbox on our Exchange 2003 server and Email/attachments are pulled from it and processed to our Helpdesk.

We are now upgrading to Exchange 2007 SP1 and, suddenly, the MailBee can't connect.

Our connection code is as follows:

dim email
set email = server.CreateObject( "MailBee.POP3" )
email.EnableLogging = True
email.LogFilePath   = "C:\mailbee_log.txt"
email.ServerName    = Email_Server
email.LicenseKey    = Email_Key
email.Username      = Email_Username
email.Password      = Email_Password
email.Timeout       = 10

if( email.Connect ) then...


The logfile generates the following:

09:42:30 [MailBee POP3 v. 5.3.0.47. Registered version]
09:42:30 [Connecting to server webmail.pork.org at port 110]
09:42:30 [Using regular POP3 authentication]
09:42:30 [Sending UserName]
09:42:30 [Sending Password]
09:42:30 [Error: Negative or void server response]
09:42:30 [Server responded: -ERR The requested mailbox is not available on this server.\r\n]
09:42:30 [Possible error reason: incorrect UserName and/or Password]
09:42:30 [Error: Connection failure]

We have tried resetting the mailbox password, we have verified that the POP3 service is running, and we have tried turning on PlainTextLogin as our authentication, but still no go.

Do we need to upgrade the MailBee to v5.5 or should v5.3 still work? Any other ideas as to things we might need to check/change?

Regards,
Joel
Back to Top View eagle32nd's Profile Search for other posts by eagle32nd
 
Alex
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support
Avatar

Joined: 19 November 2003
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2206
Posted: 09 September 2008 at 8:11am | IP Logged Quote Alex

Probably, new Exchange version requires you to specify domain in the username (or vice versa, if you had it specified before).

For instance, if your username is "john", you may need to change to "domain\john" or "john@domain".

Finally, make sure you can connect with the same POP3 settings with another POP3 client like Thunderbird or Outlook Express.

Regards,
Alex
Back to Top View Alex's Profile Search for other posts by Alex
 
eagle32nd
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 September 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Posted: 09 September 2008 at 8:31am | IP Logged Quote eagle32nd

Thanks!! Will give these a try and post results back.

Regards,
Joel
Back to Top View eagle32nd's Profile Search for other posts by eagle32nd
 
eagle32nd
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 September 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Posted: 09 September 2008 at 9:09am | IP Logged Quote eagle32nd

Resolution!!!

We had tried most of the things you suggested. So I dl'ed Thunderbird and couldn't get it to connect either...

...until the decided to use the raw IP of the Exchange server. All is now happy. For us, it was also imperative that the Exchange Server's authentication be set to "PlainTextLogin".

Thanks again for the suggestions.

MailBee lives again!!!

Regards,
Joel
Back to Top View eagle32nd's Profile Search for other posts by eagle32nd
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.9
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide