Search The ForumSearch   RegisterRegister  LoginLogin

AfterLogic WebMail Lite 7

 AfterLogic Forum : AfterLogic WebMail Lite 7
Subject Topic: Fixing Re[2]: Subject Line Issue Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Karl
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 December 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Posted: 27 December 2013 at 6:15pm | IP Logged Quote Karl

Hi all,

Just to get this out of the way -- I did do a search for this issue before asking, and came across this thread:

http://www.afterlogic.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4544&PN=8

Unfortunately, it didn't reveal much information (at least to me), so I'm hoping someone else might be able to help me or explain things in a way I can understand.

When engaging in emails with multiple replies, afterlogic adds Re[2]: to the subject line - and this number doesn't seem to go up with consecutive messages.

So you end up with subject lines that look like this:

Re[2]: Re[2]: Re[2]: Re[2]: Re[2]: Blah Blah Blah

I'm not super concerned with getting this to function correctly (e.g., Re[3]:, Re[4]: and so on), but rather removing it all together.

In my experience, most email clients simply add just "Re:" to the subject line, regardless of how many replies have been made. I would like to stick to this convention.

At this time, I'm changing the subject line manually (simply to read "Re:"), but obviously this is not ideal.

Any guidance as to how I could resolve this issue would be VERY much appreciated.
Back to Top View Karl's Profile Search for other posts by Karl
 
Igor
AfterLogic Support
AfterLogic Support


Joined: 24 June 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6104
Posted: 28 December 2013 at 1:49am | IP Logged Quote Igor

Actually, the issue can only be there if one of the senders involved uses a different client. If you reply to email with subject Re[2]: with WebMail, it will become Re[3]: properly.

It's a moot point whether WebMail should take the liberty of modifying existing subject structure if it's already Re[2]: Re[2]: Re[2]: ... there. However, developers have a working way to have those Re's properly restructured, and though it's not in the product yet, you can add the feature to your product installation. The modification needs to be applied to the following function in static/js/app.js file:

Code:
     /**
      * @param {string} sPrefix
      * @param {string} sSubject
      *
      * @return {string}
      */
     CMessageSender.prototype.replySubjectAdd = function (sPrefix, sSubject)
     {
          
          var
               oMatch = null,
               sResult = Utils.trim(sSubject)
          ...
     };


The code of the function needs to be replaced with the code found here. Be sure to clear cache to apply changes.

Hope this helps!

--
Regards,
Igor, AfterLogic Support
Back to Top View Igor's Profile Search for other posts by Igor
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.9
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide